Drink, Drank, Drunk Around the World

I would be lying if I said this wasn’t one of my most anticipated items (if not #1) on my DCP Bucket List.  A few years ago, my entire family (cousins/aunts/uncles/grandparents/the whole gang) went to Disney on Christmas vacation and at the time, I was twenty years old, so I sadly had to watch my older cousin’s Snapchat story of how she and my aunt drank around Epcot for an entire afternoon while feeling entirely left out. I was so close. I also knew this would be one of my only opportunities to do this, because  when my family goes on a Disney vacation, we basically spend two days going open to close and there’s no time for this drinking nonsense (their words, not mine). So this was it.

Before embarking on this challenge, I did the required research-basically where to start and what to drink. There are many different opinions on if you should go clockwise or counter-clockwise and that’s pretty much the biggest challenge. If you don’t know Epcot’s layout, it would go like this if you choose clockwise:

  1. Mexico
  2. Norway
  3. China
  4. Germany
  5. Italy
  6. America
  7. Japan
  8. Morocco
  9. France
  10. United Kingdom
  11. Canada

Basically, the biggest question is if you want to start with tequila and then end on a mellow note with a few beers, or start easy with the beers and then just go over the top with the tequila.

That’s about all the preparation we had, because there’s no real way to prepare. I’ve read some other experiences and some people say to stick with all beer or stick with all liquor (if you can handle that) and to pace yourself. The pacing yourself is a good idea, but we didn’t want to stick with one kind of drink the entire way around the world because we (and when I say we, I mean my roommates and I) felt like that would defeat the purpose of drinking from all the different countries. I mean, when you’re in Mexico, you get tequila. When you’re in Italy, you drink wine. When you’re in Germany, you get beer and so on and so forth. So naturally, that’s what we did.

Fortunately for us, I have the time stamps on all of the pictures that I took (thank you, Apple) so you can see how quickly we were drinking around the world and why you should probably spread this challenge out more than we did. (Long story short, our friend wanted to go with us to DD but she had to work that day so we didn’t end up getting to Epcot until 5, so we were kind of on a time crunch.)

So here it goes…our adventure of drinking around the world, starting with Mexico and moving clockwise, because why not start with tequila and let it go downhill from there?

  1. Mexico. 5:29 p.m. Obviously had to start with a margarita-just a classic lime on the rocks. The three straws are because we decided it would be best for our bank accounts and livers if we shared drinks the whole way. (Note: even though we were sharing, I definitely ended up drinking a majority of this marg, whoops.)DATW 1
  2. Norway. 5:33 p.m. We had to get Einstock in Norway because it’s Rachel’s favorite beer and I don’t blame her, because even though I’m more of a wine girl, I really appreciate this light beer. Still good after stop 2. It was also very important to us that the cast member who poured our beer was named “Hans” because you know…Frozen.
  3. China. 5:42 p.m. So we got lucky and we actually did our DATW challenge in April, which was right in the middle of Epcot’s Flower and Garden Festival. Basically our choice of drinks doubled (which was also a bit of a problem) so we not only had all the regular kiosks to choose from, but the festival ones as well. So this drink is actually a special from the Flower & Garden. This drink was the “Kung Fu Punch” which consisted of vodka, triple sec, mango, and orange juice and it was delicious. DATW 4
  4. Germany. 5:57 p.m. My turn to buy again, so I picked Oktoberfest, because what is more German that that? I actually wanted a Hefeweizen, because that was at the festival kiosk but they were out of it when we got there. But still, German beer is German beer.  DATW 5
  5. Italy. 6:20 p.m. Hmmm, I wonder what we get in Italy? Obviously wine. We chose Moscato because majority rules and 2/3 of us like white wine as opposed to red (sorry, Rachel). I wish I knew what kind of moscato it was, but we weren’t exactly the best notetakers and according to the F&G festival passport, it just says “moscato.” DATW 6
  6. America. 6:29 p.m.  The halfway point. We had the Shipyard Maple Bacon Stout which was probably my least favorite drink of the day because I am definitely not a dark beer kind of girl, and this thing was basically black. But it smelled great and had such an interested flavor with the strongest aftertaste in the world. Holy bacon, Batman! Also, if I had to use only one picture to describe Rachel, it would be this one. **TO SUM UP THE HALFWAY POINT: We’ve now had 3 types of beer, tequila, wine, and vodka in one hour. We’re three 5’2″ girls and we’re doing GREAT.
  7. Japan. 6:48 p.m.  Normally we would do sake in Japan because that’s the obvious choice, but we were really intrigued with the green tea colada they were offering. We debated for a little bit between the slushie and the sake and felt like it was in the best interest of our livers to not drink sake at that moment. This was probably a wise decision. Plus, this slushie was actually amazingly light and refreshing and we actually had it again the day we did all four parks in one day. Perfect on a hot April night. DATW 8
  8. Morocco. 7:04 p.m. I guess we were on a slushie kick because the next thing we had was this bright blue slush in Morocco that was heaven. I wish I could tell you the name of it or what was in it, but I literally have no idea. All I know is that it was wonderful and turned my tongue blue for the rest of the night. I was also obsessed with it because apparently it reminded me of Kentucky (my alma mater-GO CATS!) and because I was the “blue” in our red, white, and blue ensembles because yes, we went to drink around the world in Epcot as the American flag. Because we’re obnoxious. DATW 18
  9. France.7:28 p.m. and 7:33 p.m. Again with the slushies! Goodness. Naturally we chose the most dangerous drinks because it didn’t even seem like we were having alcohol, when in fact, it was a LOT. We ended up having two drinks in France because we couldn’t decide what we wanted and we were drunk so nothing was holding us back. The first drink was a “La Vie en Rose Frozen Slush” which contained Grey Goose orange, St. Germain liquor, white and red cranberry juice. We liked it so much we then went to get the second drink because France did not disappoint the first time. We didn’t realize the second was actually a push-pop and entirely impossible to eat without our hands getting incredibly sticky. But we did our best. That was an “Ice Pop Grand Marnier Peach Cocktail” which had Grand Marnier peach raspberry, vodka, and iced tea. Both of these were from the F&G festival kiosk. (Notice how I lost count of our countries…oops)
  10. United Kingdom. 7:40 p.m. I wish I could say we went out in style, but we didn’t. The last two stops were incredibly mellow, as we got beer in both. Unfortunately, I have no idea what kind of beer this was, but my best guess would be…you know, I don’t even have a guess for you. I’m sorry that I’ve failed this, but here’s a picture. At least the caption is gold. DATW 19
  11. Canada. 8:07 p.m. Another beer stop and I honestly have no idea what this one was either. But yay for a grand finale! DATW 15
  12. Mexico…again. 8:32 p.m. We finished with some nachos in Mexico and also another margarita, because it was a beautiful full circle thing. (And why did no one stop us? No idea. Fortunately, there is no picture of this.)

Basically, it was a great time, but some general tips:

  • Don’t do this in two and a half hours. Seriously. It was rough.
  • Share drinks! That’s the only thing that saved us.
  • And our DD of course. Either have someone drive you or take the bus.
  • Eat! We didn’t eat until it was all over-bad idea.
  • Drink water! Again, this seems like an obvious thing to say, but we totally did not have any water. And if you ask any place that has a fountain machine for a cup of water, they give it to you free. So there’s no excuse other than our own drunkness.
  • Take notes. Even if it’s just a snapchat caption of “Stop 1: Margarita in Mexico” at least you know the country and the drink.

Best of luck on your adventure around the world!  Here are some more gems from our progressively drunkski moments.

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Drink, Drank, Drunk Around the World

Leave a Reply

